16 November 2023

ILP Sponsors
the National Book Awards After Party

Congratulations to the winners of the 2023 National Book Awards, organised by the National Book Foundation. ILP had the pleasure of being a sponsor of the Awards After Party, and we had a wonderful evening celebrating the successes of all of the finalists and winning authors.

The 2023 winners were announced yesterday at the 74th National Book Awards Ceremony & Benefit Dinner:

Winner for Fiction is “Blackouts” by Justin Torres, from Farrar, Straus and Giroux / Macmillan Publishers.

Winner for Nonfiction is “The Rediscovery of America: Native Peoples and the Unmaking of U.S. History” by Ned Blackhawk, from Yale University Press.

Winner for Poetry is “from unincorporated territory [åmot]” by Craig Santos Perez, from Omnidawn Publishing.

Winner for Translated Literature is “The Words That Remain” by Stênio Gardel, translated from the Portuguese by Bruna Dantas Lobato, from New Vessel Press.

Winner for Young People’s Literature is “A First Time for Everything” by Dan Santat, from First Second / Macmillan Publishers.

74th National Book Awards Ceremony hosted by LeVar Burton with special guest Oprah Winfrey, New York, November 15, 2023. Photograph © Beowulf Sheehan